Bawumia picks nomination forms to replace Akufo-Addo

Estimated read time 2 min read

Vice President Dr Mahamudu Bawumia has officially set the tone for his journey to replace his current boss, President Akufo-Addo in leading the NPP to the polls next year. The former Deputy Bank of Ghana governor has thus pledged to beat other aspirants in the upcoming NPP primaries to pave the way for his journey to the Jubilee House as the leader of Ghana.

Fred Oware, a former Vice Chairman of the NPP and Sammy Awuku picked the nomination forms for Dr Bawumia. An earlier attempt by a group known as the Bawumia Fan Club to pick the nomination forms was thwarted by the National Executives.

Dr Bawumia had meanwhile, pledged to win the race to lead the NPP into the next election and break the 8 for the NPP. He told a gathering in Hohoe over the weekend, “I want you to know that I appreciate your support. We are going to break the 8. First of all, we are going to file for the flagbearership which I’m going to do, win the flagbearership, break the 8, and go to Jubilee House. That is what I’m going to do”.

Meanwhile, a number of aspirants have already picked their nomination forms in preparation for the primaries. An economist and former minister Dr Kofi Kondadu Apraku has picked forms to contest alongside Francis Addai-Nimo, a former MP for Mampong, former Energy Minister Boakye Agyarko and former General Secretary of the party Kwabena Agyei Agyapong.

Others who are yet to pick the forms include Assin Central MP Kennedy Ohene Agyapong, former Trade and Industry Minister Alan John Kwadwo Kyeremanten and Joe Ghartey, a former Minister for Railways.  

You May Also Like

More From Author

+ There are no comments

Add yours

Leave a Reply